Welcome to “Accidentally Bernie”!

Standard

I have come to a point in my life where I have started attending my friends fortieth Birthday Parties. Long gone are the twenty first’s, the engagement parties, weddings and christenings. Gone are the thirtieth’s and here I am about to enter my forties. I have always thought, and said that for me “life begins at forty”. I’m not waiting to get to forty to start living, but I feel that my forties will be a time for “me”.
Life carries us along, I often have moments where I realize that I am the “adult” that as a teenager I couldn’t wait to be. From school I decided to become a nurse and worked to achieve that goal,  which took me along a path that looking back, is the same as it looked from the other end as a seventeen year old looking forward, just with the details more defined. So I guess that means that up to now life has turned out pretty much how I had planned. I consider myself very lucky to be able to say this, when my work involves unexpected death and trauma often with young people, it makes me very aware of how precious and unpredictable life is.
I met my husband along the way, married and had our three children. This was during a time when twenty three was considered young to be having children and many other mothers were closer to forty. But I always knew, during the busy baby, trying toddler and early child hood years that when I turned forty my daughter would have just turned sixteen and my boys will be twelve and eleven. And compared to that tied down, isolated, overwhelmed, sleep-deprived and chaotic phase of caring for three small children, forty was the light at the end of my tunnel!
I don’t feel a sense of gloom about turning forty. I have no regrets about my life so far and my mid life pondering’s have not driven me to the extremes of buying a sports car, moving overseas or joining a new religion. No, my mid life “crisis” has led me to the decision to write this blog. This is about extreme as I get! Twenty years ago it would have just been a journal. But in this new age of apps and the Internet, here we are.This blog is for me and about me. Not primarily to entertain, but hopefully that will be the end result for my readers. Along the way there will be some parenting tips and advice, feel free to learn from my mistakes, a funny story or two and some good old fashioned common sense to be taken from the ramblings of someone who can, at the very least, say she has some life experience! I am doing this with the expectation that for me it will be like therapy. Putting all the thoughts that go around and around in my head down on “paper”.So With twenty-two years of nursing experience, eighteen years of relationship experience, (with one husband) and sixteen years of parenting experience I hope to share with you, who I am, what I do, where I come from and where I am headed. Because for the first time in my life the path ahead is not so clear. I hope you will join me for the journey.Make sure you click on the link to follow my blogs.

You will never see your name but you may read about you’re behaviour!

I would love you to leave a comment below, especially for my first blog!

Stay safe, be happy!

Image

My friend’s fortieth birthday.

8 responses »

  1. Nice work Bernie. You should be very proud of yourself. For your first blog I wonder when the movie will be on the big screen. I love accidentally Bernie. Keep on writing.

  2. Love this Bernie, you are a great inspiration and role model, one of my mentors at work, great idea and can’t wait for future blogs!! xo

  3. I’m glad you’re excited about doing this for yourself. Putting our chaos into print can often times lay out the directions to that path ahead that you’re apprehensive about. I for one am of the school that everything happens as it should – when it should. I’m excited to read your thoughts. You’re a beautiful soul – that beams through loud and clear!

    PS – Is moving overseas really a mid-life crisis?

    -Scott

Leave a Reply

