Secret Santa.

Standard

What age is too old to still believe in Santa?

With Christmas fast approaching I worked out how many child free shopping day’s I had left before the end of the school year and this got me thinking about how old my children are now and how much easier it would be if my boys would just work it out for themselves about Santa’s true identity.
When this happens I plan on having a budget and they can have a say in what they get and can even help pick something out and try things on too.
Of course I won’t be able to resist having some surprises under the tree also.
But it will definitely be easier and give me more time to shop instead of having to have it all done by the end of november.
So I have realised that I still have two believers and it is probably too close to Christmas to break the news/their little hearts now.
So my plan is to sit them down and tell them both in about March next year.
Or maybe get their sister to tell them. She is a big driver in telling them as she thinks they will be teased.
The issue of how old has risen as I have some friends and fellow mothers who think that it is terrible that my boys still believe in Santa at age 12 and 11.  And this is what has prompted this blog.
I do realise that it is probably time but I do think it is lovely that they have lasted for so long as kids today seem to grow up so quickly.
When my son was in grade 5 and was 10 years old he changed to a school that goes from grade 5 to grade 12, and I knew that still believing in Santa would be a problem. But my reason for not revealing it at that stage was that he had a younger brother that would find out also, I knew he wouldn’t be able to keep the secret.
So to avoid being bullied, I told my son that when the other boys said Santa wasn’t real that he should just agree with them, but that “we knew he actually was real.”
I remember my son reaching out to me, touching my arm looking, into my eyes and saying to me, “Mum. You wanna know how I know Santa must be real because, I know you would never lie to me.” Aaawww.
How can I be the one to break the news to him now?
That was when I knew I was in trouble.
So this year is my last Christmas with “believers.”
I have mixed feelings as I think it will change the feel of Christmas when they know but on the other hand they are growing up so much. Oh bugger, then that makes me realise how old I am…..As usual in the end it’s all about me!
So let me know. How old is too old to still believe in Santa?
I would love to hear from you.
Merry Christmas,
Stay safe, be happy,
5 responses »

  1. I am sorry. I found out when I was about 10 and I can tell you that it was a realisation that changed my view of Christmas. I have been trying to get that innocence back since. Do not tell them. They need to continue to have that one thing that has magic and mystery and a sense of the child in all of us. To shatter that reality is devestating. Let Santa love in the hearts and souls of the young and forever be children at heart.

  2. There is nothing like the joy and innocence of believing in Santa! Reality comes along soon enough, i say let them enjoy it for as long as they can! As you say, they can pretend to go along with the non believer thing for the sake of the peer group.

  3. I think it’s nice that they still believe, but do they really still believe or are they just saying they do? My kids kept saying they did, as they thought they would stop getting presents if they said they didn’t lol

  4. They could be just “faking” it. My niece did, cause she thought it would be fun to make it difficult for her parents, as well as get better presents. Don’t be surprised if they already know and don’t want to break your heart.

  5. The beautiful thing that I took from this blog is the utter trust your son has in you. What a wonderful mother/son relationship has blossomed in your household. Does it really matter if he believes or not? You can just change how Christmas gift giving runs – we did as my older girls wanted a say in their gifts; so Santa leaves a Santa Sack for each child (small gifts) and there are other gifts under the tree too. And if you don’t believe you don’t receive . . . Love your work Bernie!

Leave a Reply

